The Cincinnati Reds' Trevor Bauer has won the National League Cy Young Award, giving Cincinnati its first winner of the award.

Bauer topped fellow finalists Yu Darvish of the Chicago Cubs and Jacob deGrom of the New York Mets in the voting announced by the Baseball Writers' Association of America on Wednesday.

DeGrom was looking to become the third pitcher in MLB history to win the award in three consecutive seasons.

The Reds had never had a Cy Young winner, making them one of four active MLB teams without a Cy Young winner and the only team founded prior to 1961 without one.

Bauer ended that drought.

He went 5-4 with a league-leading 1.73 ERA, a 100-17 strikeout-to-walk ratio in 73 innings and an opponents' batting average of .159. Late in the season, with the Reds fighting for a playoff spot, he beat the Brewers on short rest, allowing one run with 12 K's in eight innings.

Cleveland Indians ace Shane Bieber was the unanimous winner of the AL Cy Young Award on Wednesday, capping an impressive rise by the right-hander to his status as one of the game's best pitchers.

Using a versatile repertoire that includes a looping curveball and a wipeout slider, Bieber went 8-1 with a 1.63 ERA and 122 strikeouts in 77⅓ innings during the pandemic-shortened 2020 season, leading the majors in ERA and strikeouts, and tying Yu Darvish for the most wins.

Bieber became the second player in franchise history to win the pitching AL Triple Crown, joining Hall of Famer Bob Feller in 1940. He was the first pitcher to lead the majors in all three categories since Johan Santana for Minnesota in 2006.

Twins right-hander Kenta Maeda finished second in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, followed by Toronto Blue Jays left-hander Hyun-Jin Ryu.

It marked the 10th time that an AL pitcher was a unanimous choice for the award. Bieber is the first unanimous winner in the league since Justin Verlander for the Detroit Tigers in 2011.