Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    born and raised on the south side of Chicago.

How much money should big pharma make off a Vaccine developed with public funds?

I listened to this and found it fascinating given the world I come from.

https://www.pbs.org/newshour/show/is...avirus-vaccine

I believe that with something like this... something that is made with public money the amount of "Profit" drug companies can make off of public money should be limited.

Quote Originally Posted by MrPoon
    man with hair like fire can destroy souls with a twitch of his thighs.

Several layers of problems

1.) Who is monitoring how they're spending the money they've already received?
    For example, I used to be an accountant for the state and I know right now they have to have special coding to use to tag payments they're making using money received from Covid/CARES Act revenue, and it's pretty meticulous on how that has to be done. Are they doing that with non-government entities? HIGHLY doubt it.

2.) Since we can already safely assume whatever monitoring does get done will be overseen by people who will benefit directly and/or indirectly from their relationship with the pharma companies, we not only won't know how much those companies legitimately spend on vaccine development but won't know how much is being skimmed off or by who. In accounting there is something called separation of duties, designed to reduce the possibility of fraud...if the only people looking at transactions are also involved in the associated fraudulent activities, we many never really know it happened; the accounting equivalent of 'if a tree falls in a forest...'