Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Is Lamar Jackson having the greatest QB season all-time?

As of Week 13 in the 2019 NFL season, Ravens QB Lamar Jackson is the MVP frontrunner. Jackson, has shown consistent accuracy from the pocket, but it's his elusiveness and speed that have helped make his sophomore year an all-time great season. I decided to compile a list of passing and rushing season and postseason stats from all QB's in NFL/AFL history beginning from 1950. I've translated all QB stats into 2017 -- only because I've been using 2017 as a basis for my QB reference since 2017. I've run multiple regression analysis to help determine the linear weights in an adjustment to Pete Palmer's ANY/A metric that includes player rushing statistics. I converted the new metric, rANY/A into wins and sorted all QB's from 1950 by Wins Above an Average QB (WAA).

I'm free to answer any questions about my formula in the replies. I'm tired and want to get straight to the results in the OP.

The top seasons:

1. Marino '84 WAA=3.67
    2. Brady '11 WAA = 3.42
    3. Brady '07 WAA = 3.32
    4. Brees '11 WAA = 3.26
    5. P Manning '13 WAA = 3.23
    6. Culpepper '04 WAA = 3.21
    7. Staubach '77 WAA = 3.19
    8. Fouts '82 WAA = 3.19
    9. Fouts '80 WAA = 3.18
    10. P Manning '06 WAA = 3.12

*I combine regular season and post season stats. Again, I could get into my theory in a later post.

*In seasons like Unitas '59 and Graham '52, the 12th best single season all time, the regular season numbers and post season numbers were extrapolated to reflect modern NFL regular season and post season length. Strike shortened seasons produced '82 and '87 were extrapolated and also normalized to reflect the notion that exaggerated numbers would've likely regressed to the mean if more games were played.
    *Penalized players like Brees, Moon, Stafford, P Manning etc. 5% rANY/A for playing in dome conditions.