Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Detroit, Michigan

    Clippers' Billups wins first Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award

    Official Release
    Posted Jun 9, 2013 7:08 PM
    MIAMI -- Jack Twyman and Maurice Stokes, whose storied friendship transcended their on-court Hall of Fame accomplishments, will be permanently honored with an annual NBA award in their names that recognizes the ideal teammate, the league announced today.

    "What better way to honor the life-long bond that developed between Jack Twyman and Maurice Stokes than by naming this award after them," said NBA Commissioner David Stern. "The Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award recognizes friendship and selflessness among teammates and celebrates the legacy of Jack and Maurice."

    NBA players have selected Chauncey Billups of the Los Angeles Clippers as the recipient of the inaugural Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award. As part of its support for the Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award, the NBA will make a $25,000 donation to the charity of Billups' choice. A panel of NBA Legends nominated six players from each conference for the award, which recognizes the NBA player deemed the best teammate based on selfless play, on and off-court leadership as a mentor and role model to other NBA players, and his commitment and dedication to his team.

    "Chauncey Billups defines what this award was designed to recognize, a player committed to his club, his teammates and his community," Stern said. "He has mentored and guided countless young players to adopt his selfless attitude, dedication, passion for our game and to respect the history and example of players like Jack Twyman and Maurice Stokes."

    Twyman and Stokes were friends and teammates on the Rochester/Cincinnati Royals from 1955 to 1958. In the last game of the 1957-58 regular season, Stokes suffered an on-court injury that led to him falling into a coma days later, leaving him permanently paralyzed. Diagnosed with posttraumatic encephalopathy, a brain injury that damaged his motor-control center, Stokes was supported for the rest of his life by Twyman, who became his legal guardian and advocate.

    Twyman helped organize the NBA's Maurice Stokes Memorial Basketball game, held at Kutsher's Hotel and Country Club in Monticello, N.Y., which raised funds for Stokes's medical care and, following his death in 1970 at age 36, for other players in need. In 2004, after years of lobbying by Twyman, Stokes was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Twyman, who was enshrined in the Hall of Fame in 1983, died in 2012.

    The trophy that will be presented annually to the Twyman-Stokes Award winner was produced by Marc Mellon, the same artist who sculpts the Maurice Podoloff Trophy, which is given annually to the NBA's Most Valuable Player.

    In this year's award voting, Billups totaled 1,543 total points, including 64 first-place votes. Miami Heat forward Shane Battier finished second with 1,324 points (79 first-place votes), and New York Knicks guard Jason Kidd placed third with 1,048 points (42 first-place votes).

    Ten points were awarded for a first-place vote, seven for second, five for third, three for fourth and one for fifth; players were not allowed to vote for a player on their own team. Along with the Billups, the finalists included Jerry Stackhouse (Brooklyn Nets), Luke Walton (Cleveland Cavaliers), Andre Iguodala (Denver Nuggets), Jarrett Jack (Golden State Warriors), Roy Hibbert (Indiana Pacers), Battier, Roger Mason, Jr. (New Orleans Hornets), Kidd, Serge Ibaka (Oklahoma City Thunder), Manu Ginobili (San Antonio Spurs), and Emeka Okafor (Washington Wizards).

    Following is a list of this year's voting totals for the 2012-13 Twyman/Stokes Teammate of the Year Award.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Congrats Chauncey. This is a great award and I am glad they created it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    The Pharcyde of the Moon
    I'm definitely on board with this award, I think it's a great way to show some love to the team glue guys.
    Raptors Franchise Checklist:
    Rebuild with young players [x]
    Build contending team [x ]
    Host NBA All-Star Weekend [x]
    Win Championship [x ]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Awesome, good for Chauncey. Saw Jerry Stackhouse was nominated too haha.

    For those who haven't, read the Twyman-Stokes story. It is incredible. I looked up Stokes later on as well - dude could've been incredibly. Twywan lobbied the folks at the basketball Hall of Fame to get enshrined after only 3 seasons but I'm pretty sure he wouldve made it if he has just played 3-4 more seasons. Averaged 18 boards his rookie season, his last (3rd) one he was 2nd in league in rebounds and 3rd in assists.
    I survived Stephon Marbury's inability
    Jason Kidd, Kenyon Martin, Richard Jefferson era
    I survived them all leaving, a 12-70 season and not getting the #1 pick
    Mikhail Prokhorov buys the Nets
    I survived Melodrama
    Deron Williams traded here
    I survived 248 games missed due to injury, 5 d-league call-ups, 14 different lineups in ONE season, Johan Petro
    I survived Dwightmare
    I survived Avery & PJC's rotations
    THE Offseason - Success TBD

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Wait I'm kinda confused. You can't vote for your own teammate for the "best teammate of the year" award. LOL

    On a serious note though, that story's incredible. True bros right there.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by RiceOnTheRun View Post
    Wait I'm kinda confused. You can't vote for your own teammate for the "best teammate of the year" award. LOL

    On a serious note though, that story's incredible. True bros right there.
    Yea I don't understand that either. How is someone on some other team supposed to know good of a teammate an opponent is?

    You could say that its because other players have played with Bilups before but this award is for this year only. How do the other players know how good of a teammate Billups was this year?

    Congrats to Billups though! I expect Fisher will win it the year after and then maybe Nash before he retires. Basically all the "classy" guys of the league.

    LOL at Luke Walton being among the finalists.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    I bet he was stoked after receiving the award.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Finally an award that Luk Walton can work towards....Your teammates can't even vote for their "glue guys"......LAME
    @paulpierce34 I told Wade I will **** his mom like how my man D. West did his mans. Thats why I got ejected
    Ignore List:
    AIMelo=KillaDUO; Reason: Makes up stories to protect the one he beats his meat to everynight(Melo)
    Chucky Woods; Reason: Packer Homer that just talks outta his Azz
    HaruSoul; Reason: Sanchez homer can't see that he is a POS qb
    Hustlenomics; Reason: Good luck debating with this Ronda homer
    nickdymez; Reason: Kobe/Laker homer but didn't even know how the Lakers got Kobe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts