PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone else find the new NBA boring to watch?

Twolves88
10-27-2018, 01:54 AM
The general NBA game has evolved a ton since the late 90's and early 2000's. The big men are no longer the focus of the team. The guard and 3 point shooting has widely taken over the NBA. We have teams like Houston chucking up 3 pointers at a incredible rate. Back in 07 when I graduated high school it was more about the big man and his ability to draw the double team to get the guard the open shot.

While I understand that high scoring games creates more fan viewership it also seems like the game has become a bit stale. The general prevailing best strategy is to avoid the mid range jump shot and rather focus on high probability plays such as points in the paint or 3 point shots. It does not seem that possessions are valued as much as in the past due to the pace of game.

To me it doesn't seem like there is as much cutting and backdoors and general ball movement compared to years past. This last season when I watch teams it seems to be who can get a better look at the 3 ball rather then who can get the best available shot.

Am I wrong or has basketball become overly simplified? What happened to defense and the spurs teams of years past were passing and cutting were instrumental to offenses.

Should the NBA implement rules so defensive players have a bit more ability to play to their strengths?

IKnowHoops
10-27-2018, 03:46 AM
Love the NBA. But if you are a Wolves fan, and all you watch is the Wolves...basketball sucks bad.

Twolves88
10-27-2018, 04:00 AM
Love the NBA. But if you are a Wolves fan, and all you watch is the Wolves...basketball sucks bad.

Its not that. It doesn't seem like any defensive pride exists. Also it seems to be more YMCA like were the first person to get open gets to jack up a 3 or go in for a dunk.

What happened to the art of passing ball, ball movement, and not just the routine boring pick a role between a wing and a power forward.