PDA

View Full Version : An idea to help "competitive balance"

jphysics
07-13-2016, 04:07 PM
Sorry if this has been proposed before. I am not an expert.

Some people suggest it is a problem that multiple superstars can wind up on the same team. Owners try to use this to argue for lower salary caps various other restrictions.

Instead, what if we dramatically increase the individual salary max?

Players like Lebron, Durant, and Curry could easily command upwards of 50 million a year in the open market. If they are that expensive, no team will be able to afford to pay the salary for multiple top level players.

It is also could be considered more fair to the elite players. Lebron easily brings his franchise more money than the $30 million a year he is getting paid. A whole lot more. Let him get a share proportional to his contributions.

Maybe elite players will take pay cuts to play together, but I think it will be hard to take $20-30 million on a team with another star, when you could make $50 million on a team with no stars. That's a huge paycut.

The downside? Non-elite players will have to make less money, because more of the money will go to the superstars. No more 153 million dollar salaries for Conley. But really, should Michael Conley be getting paid as much as Lebron James?

Scoots
07-13-2016, 04:15 PM
There is a CBA thread, a rules thread, and a max contract thread that this would fit fine in.

The Max protects bad owners and front offices more than helps good front offices and owners. Making it more will just mean that lesser players end up at that tier too, except teams will have less flexibility once they do make that deal.

Chronz
07-13-2016, 04:21 PM
Nobody knows the cure all or curiaga for ff fans.

But yes your idea is the best I've heard

nycericanguy
07-13-2016, 04:27 PM
There is a CBA thread, a rules thread, and a max contract thread that this would fit fine in.