PDA

View Full Version : An NBA Team in Montreal?

JustinTime
10-23-2015, 02:38 PM
While Montreal basketball fans prepare to descend on the Bell Centre for Friday night's annual pre-season NBA game between the Toronto Raptors and the Washington Wizards, one local businessman is spearheading a solitary effort to bring an NBA team to this city.

Michael Fortier, a former senator and cabinet minister in the Harper government, has been quietly working for about a year to get the ball rolling toward the city lining up its own NBA team. Back in January, he had an exploratory meeting with NBA commissioner Adam Silver, and has told La Presse that he's managed to find a couple of willing backers in the Quebec business community each of which has pledged $100 million toward a potential franchise.

"It's clear that I opened the commissioner's eyes to Montreal, and on the interest of the Montreal market," Fortier, a banker by trade, told La Presse. "Montreal is a big market. The NBA plays to sold-out crowds almost every time it comes to Montreal, and the people at the NBA understand there's an interest, and that basketball is growing in popularity in Canada."

There are plenty of roadblocks in Fortier's path. For one thing, the NBA isn't planning on expanding, nor does it have a committee in place to study the possibility of expanding in the near future. It's expected that it would require close to $1 billion just to get a team off the ground.

The Montreal Canadiens, who own the arena where a new franchise would play its home games, have also indicated they're not interested in funding a pro basketball team.

In the meantime, however, Fortier told the paper he's keeping the lines of communication open with Silver, and is hoping to meet with him again in the coming months.

http://www.cjad.com/cjad-news/2015/10/23/an-nba-team-in-montreal

MILLERHIGHLIFE
10-23-2015, 03:12 PM