06-29-2015, 02:46 PM
Per Marc Stein & David Aldridge

Not big news, but he was expected to opt out. Miami caught another break

J_M_B
06-29-2015, 02:46 PM
Mods feel free to move this if it isn't thread worthy

TrueFan420
06-29-2015, 02:50 PM
Thread worthy and itneresting that's good for them.

DanG
06-29-2015, 03:15 PM
Do they have enough to resign wade & dragic? I'm not really good with the cap space **** lmao.

J_M_B
06-29-2015, 03:27 PM
Do they have enough to resign wade & dragic? I'm not really good with the cap space **** lmao.

Yes, they own their bird rights.

NYKnickFanatic
06-29-2015, 03:29 PM
I think it's thread worthy, considering he was supposed to opt out.

TylerSL
06-29-2015, 03:37 PM
That's terrific news, I was really hoping he would. It also makes a lot of sense as I find it unlikely Deng would have been able to get a multi year contract for $10+ million. By opting in and taking the $10 million next season allows him to be an unrestricted free agent in the summer of 2016, when the cap increases 32.6%. Deng will be able to get more money at less value next summer, so by waiting to become a free agent he's doing himself a favor. More players should be opting in this year so they can become free agents in the summer of 2016.

It also works out for Miami because he fills a big need on the perimeter for us and Deng is another veteran who can help Winslow. Anther reason I am extremely happy about this is next year we will be able to see what this team can do. Last season, we did not get to see what the team Riley built in the wake of the Lebron James departure could do because of injuries. Assuming we retain Wade/Dragic (we are the heavy favorites to retain both) next year we should be able to see what this team can do. I'd rather not use the MLE this summer to save space for next year so hopefully Napier and Ennis continue to develop and maybe try to get into the rotation next season.

PG. Dragic/Chalmers/Napier
SG. Wade/Ennis/Johnson/Zoran