PDA

View Full Version : Biggest Surprises of the draft?

JasonJohnHorn
06-27-2014, 09:38 AM
I am a self-professed novice when it comes to college basketball, but judging from past drafts, so are the bulk of NBA execs. I usually look up a bunch of different mock drafts and then check out the stats to see who looks interesting (not that they tell you everything), but every year there are a few surprises.

I noticed for instances that Aaron Gordon when 4th overall, but I didn't see him going as a lottery pick in any of the mock drafts I looked at (most had Julius Randle and Noah Vonleh going well before him).

And I noticed a lot of mock drafts Adreian Payne, Rodney Hood, and Gary Harris going in the lottery, but they slip down to the mid-late teens.

So what were some of the biggest surprises you saw? Which players do you think got overlooked? And which players did you think went to early. Were there any guys that the mocks drafts you saw didn't place high, but you liked and then saw get picked higher than the mock drafts? And now that we got a sense of who is going to be playing where, who do you think is in a position to put up some crazy numbers this year?

mike_noodles
06-27-2014, 09:42 AM
Gotta be the Raps at #20 taking Bruno.

Wade n Fade
06-27-2014, 09:50 AM
Bruno. When I heard his name, I was pissed and like wtf.

ManRam
06-27-2014, 09:52 AM
Gotta be Bruno. I mean, the dude didn't have a Wikipedia page.

Gordon was a surprise, but there were rumors before the draft that he wouldn't slip past 6 and that Boston would nab him too. He certainly was a lottery pick, JJH. But most assumed he'd be the 3rd PF off the board, not the first. A perceived reach =/= a bad pick though. Only time will prove that.

Besides that, the draft more or less played out pretty predictably.

mjt20mik
06-27-2014, 10:08 AM
Gotta be Bruno. I mean, the dude didn't have a Wikipedia page.