PDA

View Full Version : How Much Longer is the Window for the San Antonio Spurs?

Nikeman
06-16-2014, 02:39 AM
After last year's NBA Finals, I thought they were done, and it time for OKC/LAC and the younger teams out west to take over the west.

The Spurs come out, post the best regular season in the NBA, and after their 1st round match-up with Dallas which took them to 7 games, simply just dominated the rest of the competition.

They just threw around a young Portland team which had won a tough series against Houston, they blew out OKC and took a 2-0 lead, before losing 2 straight to win 4-2, with all of their wins coming by like 15+, and then just dominated the HEAT in almost every game except games 1 and 2. Aside from the 1st quarter of Game 5, it seemed like San Antonio was never down in the series.

My question, as currently constructed, how much longer does this Spurs team have? I keep telling myself that they are done, but I've been telling myself that since 2011 it seems like.

Tim Duncan is the ageless wonder, Manu has stated that he wants to play again next season, Tony Parker is under contract, and their newly born finals MVP Kawahi looks ready to start a very promising career and become a quality offensive player and a dominant defensive threat.

With Pop at the helm, I wouldn't be surprised if San Antonio was competitive, (as in championship level) competitive for another 2 years. It just seems like they have an engine with 150k miles on it, and they just keep on replacing parts and small pieces and keep that engine running brand new.

jerellh528
06-16-2014, 02:44 AM
I think next season will be the last oppurtunity. Why? I don't have a difinitive answer besides the fact that Duncan can only be a cyborg for so many years before he's no longer a top 15 player, and he will probably prove me wrong.

goingfor28
06-16-2014, 02:45 AM
As long as pop is there it doesn't close

Nikeman
06-16-2014, 02:50 AM
As long as pop is there it doesn't close