PDA

View Full Version : Double dribble question



tmacsc2
02-08-2013, 12:07 AM
Why is double dribble not called on the power move where a players grabs a board down low and put the ball on the floor with both hands and goes back up. Same with big slashing dunks where a player passes the ball to a slasher and they gather while putting the ball on the floor with two hands and goes up for a monster slam

First dunk on the page with shaq on the magic. He puts the ball on the floor with both hands and spins and slams

http://www.google.com/search?q=huge+power+dunk&hl=en&safe=off&client=safari&tbo=u&source=univ&tbm=vid&sa=X&ei=VXkUUdC4EcfNigL9_ICoBQ&ved=0CDIQqwQ&biw=320&bih=416

Mr_Jones
02-08-2013, 12:15 AM
Wow, Toyota is really steppin' it up.

Phenomenonsense
02-08-2013, 12:40 AM
Why is double dribble not called on the power move where a players grabs a board down low and put the ball on the floor with both hands and goes back up. Same with big slashing dunks where a player passes the ball to a slasher and they gather while putting the ball on the floor with two hands and goes up for a monster slam

First dunk on the page with shaq on the magic. He puts the ball on the floor with both hands and spins and slams

http://www.google.com/search?q=huge+power+dunk&hl=en&safe=off&client=safari&tbo=u&source=univ&tbm=vid&sa=X&ei=VXkUUdC4EcfNigL9_ICoBQ&ved=0CDIQqwQ&biw=320&bih=416

For the same reason you're allowed to catch the ball with two hands and dribble it.

bholly
02-08-2013, 12:44 AM
The two hands rule is that if you touch the ball simultaneously with both hands then that's the end of your dribble. You can start a dribble by throwing it out of both hands, and then when it touches both hands again you have to end your dribble. That's what Shaq does in that clip. If he bounced it more than once off both hands then it would be a double dribble, but he doesn't - it only touches both his hands to start the dribble (which is fine) and end the dribble (which is also fine).

The NBA rules on dribbling are pretty short, actually.

From the definitions section in rule 4 (page 17):

Section III-Dribble
A dribble is movement of the ball, caused by a player in control, who throws or taps the ball into the air or to the floor.
a. The dribble ends when the dribbler:
(1) Touches the ball simultaneously with both hands
(2) Permits the ball to come to rest while he is in control of it
(3) Tries for a field goal
(4) Throws a pass
(5) Touches the ball more than once while dribbling, before it touches the floor
(6) Loses control
(7) Allows the ball to become dead

And from the violations section in rule 10 (page 34):

Section II—Dribble
a. A player shall not run with the ball without dribbling it.
b. A player in control of a dribble who steps on or outside a boundary line, even though
not touching the ball while on or outside that boundary line, shall not be allowed to return
inbounds and continue his dribble. He may not even be the first player to touch the ball after
he has re-established a position inbounds.
c. A player may not dribble a second time after he has voluntarily ended his first dribble.
d. A player who is dribbling may not put any part of his hand under the ball and
(1) carry it from one point to another or (2) bring it to a pause and then continue to dribble
again.
e. A player may dribble a second time if he lost control of the ball because of:
(1) A field goal attempt at his basket, provided the ball touches the backboard or basket
ring
(2) An opponent touching the ball
(3) A pass or fumble which touches his backboard, basket ring or is touched by
another player.
PENALTY: Loss of ball. Ball is awarded to the opposing team at the sideline nearest the
spot of the violation but no nearer the baseline than the foul line extended.
http://www.nba.co.nz/.element/mp3/2.0/sect/podcastmp3/NBA/PDF/2012-13_NBA_Rule_Book.pdf