PDA

View Full Version : Quick question on an NBA rule



Greet
02-05-2013, 09:32 AM
When a team takes a shot, they miss, and instead of grabbing the rebound the team (shooting the ball) taps the ball past the back court line. Why isn't that a back court violation? Is it because they technically don't have "possession" ?

IndyRealist
02-05-2013, 09:42 AM
Once the shot hits the rim it's a loose ball and no one has possession, hence the shot clock resetting.

NoahH
02-05-2013, 01:08 PM
Yup it's a loose ball and they dont have possession