PDA

View Full Version : Question for NBA or NCAA Basketball



TKOP
11-17-2012, 12:08 AM
After a basket is made, can the team that made the basket call a timeout?

Swashcuff
11-17-2012, 12:20 AM
Yup once the ball is dead. Meaning as long as the opposing team hasn't picked up ball.

hornetsfansydne
11-17-2012, 12:37 AM
No not the team that made the shot, only the team who was scored on eg Team A scores against Team B, only Team B can have a timeout

jammastershake
11-17-2012, 12:42 AM
No not the team that made the shot, only the team who was scored on eg Team A scores against Team B, only Team B can have a timeout

This is wrong.... in college anyway. Team A can call a timeout as soon as the ball is scored.

hornetsfansydne
11-17-2012, 12:52 AM
This is wrong.... in college anyway. Team A can call a timeout as soon as the ball is scored.

Possibly but your reasoning is flawed anyway. The ball doesn't become dead after a made basket as the clock still runs and the referee hasn't blown his/her whistle. The ball does become dead after a basket in the last 2 mins of the last quarter only.

jammastershake
11-17-2012, 12:58 AM
Possibly but your reasoning is flawed anyway. The ball doesn't become dead after a made basket as the clock still runs and the referee hasn't blown his/her whistle. The ball does become dead after a basket in the last 2 mins of the last quarter only.


When Timeouts May be Called

Either team may call a timeout when the ball is dead. When the ball is in play, only the team possessing the ball may call a timeout. However, if a player has possession, is airborne and is either falling out of bounds or falling from the front court to the back court, neither the player nor his team may call a timeout to avoid the potential violation. Additionally, the defense may not call a timeout once the five-second count begins on an inbound play, even if the game clock hasnít started. Although the captain is typically the only player permitted to converse with or question an official, any player may call a timeout, as well as any coach.



The defense can call a timeout between the time the scored the basketball and when the 5 second inbounds count begins.

hornetsfansydne
11-17-2012, 01:06 AM
The defense can call a timeout between the time the scored the basketball and when the 5 second inbounds count begins.

A time-out opportunity begins when:
 For both teams, the ball becomes dead, the game clock is stopped and the
official has ended his communication with the scorer's table.
 For both teams, the ball becomes dead following a successful last or only free
throw.
 For the non-scoring team, a field goal is scored.

I do apologise however. The ball does become dead after a made field goal, my mistake. But you cannot take have a timeout as the defense after a made basket. I would assume your quote was talking about any other inbounds where the referee has to handle the ball before the 5 second count starts

#knickstape
11-17-2012, 01:43 AM
About, not for...