PDA

View Full Version : Error or base-hit?



smokeosama
09-02-2012, 11:07 PM
What's your opinion? This is huge for me in fantasy baseball and I'm PRAYING they issue a stat correction post-facto...this has to be an error imo. He took his time getting there, played back on it, and the hop ate him up right off the glove.

http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=24449797&c_id=mlb

DieHardCubFan
09-02-2012, 11:23 PM
Looks like an error to me...He should've had it, just misplayed it.

hoggin88
09-02-2012, 11:32 PM
I would have ruled it a hit and I highly doubt it will get reversed.

MoisesFTW
09-02-2012, 11:35 PM
its an error it hit his glove

Toxeryll
09-02-2012, 11:36 PM
error, not bad of a hop

Fly
09-02-2012, 11:38 PM
base hit, he misplayed it.

******2017
09-02-2012, 11:44 PM
I'd rule that a hit. He didn't make a bad play on it and it barely hit his glove on the bounce on a tough angle. I'd protest that as the player if that was an error. If he knocked it down but couldn't get a grip on it that would be one thing but the angle of how he was playing it, where it was hit and how it nicked the glove it's a hit for me.

More-Than-Most
09-02-2012, 11:49 PM
Error....Play the ball and that does not happen. Not only was it an error on the field but it was an error in Judgement and it still pisses me off

LASportsFan1996
09-02-2012, 11:49 PM
It should be an error, but I doubt they overturn it

More-Than-Most
09-02-2012, 11:55 PM
also the 2 runs that gave the braves their 2nd and 3rd run should have been an error and unearned as well...Howard should have had that ball but of course the pitcher gets screwed as usual.

smokeosama
09-03-2012, 12:06 AM
Maybe Papelbon appeals, since it does balloon his ERA...

thawv
09-03-2012, 08:44 AM
Yea......this i clearly an error. He had a "sunday hop" that just hit off his glove.

old blue
09-03-2012, 09:43 AM
Did nit see the play but any ball that takes a bad hop can be ruled a base hit. No matter how routine it looks

Jeffy25
09-03-2012, 10:20 AM
error all the way

MetsFanatic19
09-03-2012, 10:34 AM
That should definitly be an error. It just looked like a high chopper that was played horribly and he should've paid the price for it (getting the error).

Bob Loblaw
09-03-2012, 02:37 PM
base hit, he misplayed it.

you just described why it should be an error

Station 13
09-03-2012, 02:48 PM
Error

Bob Loblaw
09-03-2012, 02:52 PM
wrong thread.

NJBASEBALL22
09-03-2012, 03:06 PM
its an error it hit his glove

Not always true.

But I'd say an E.

shizzle09
09-03-2012, 06:19 PM
What's your opinion? This is huge for me in fantasy baseball and I'm PRAYING they issue a stat correction post-facto...this has to be an error imo. He took his time getting there, played back on it, and the hop ate him up right off the glove.

http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=24449797&c_id=mlb

Took his time??? Nice biased view of what he did. It's a clean hit. I play shortstop and 3b. That play you just saw is tough as hell. He makes the short hop its a web gem.

shizzle09
09-03-2012, 06:21 PM
its an error it hit his glove

One of the most ******** overused innaccurate myths of baseball.

Lord_of_Dogtown
09-03-2012, 06:23 PM
Error

Lord_of_Dogtown
09-03-2012, 06:25 PM
also the 2 runs that gave the braves their 2nd and 3rd run should have been an error and unearned as well...Howard should have had that ball but of course the pitcher gets screwed as usual.

Your name is mispelled. Its "More-Than-Most"
When you're comparing two things, you use an A, if you are doing a time reference, you use an E.

WadeKobe
09-03-2012, 10:02 PM
Single with an error. Soooo.... both. No way is that a double. However, a chopper like that, that deep to 3rd? Even if he gloves it (which he probably should at least knock it down), you can't assume the out on a throw that deep at 3rd on a ball hit that slow/high. That's a single with an error, only one run should be earned.

Pinstripe pride
09-04-2012, 08:43 AM
unquestionabley an error




wait its off papelbon? its a hit

Greedy22
09-05-2012, 06:32 AM
Definitely an error, misplayed that terribly.

HowFit
09-05-2012, 08:17 AM
Better chance of being an error if ball was right in front of you than out to the side of you...I think it could be either way on that play

Station 13
09-08-2012, 12:17 PM
I think they changed the scoring on this.

ATL#22
09-08-2012, 12:57 PM
base hit, he misplayed it.

:confused:

ATL#22
09-08-2012, 01:00 PM
Your name is mispelled. Its "More-Than-Most"
When you're comparing two things, you use an A, if you are doing a time reference, you use an E.

I think he's been told a few times

ATL#22
09-08-2012, 01:08 PM
And yes they changed it to an error