PDA

View Full Version : Does the NBA have the worst Competitive Balance in all of Sports?

JWO35
08-10-2012, 07:17 AM
I think this is the perfect analogy for the NBA, "The rich gets richer and the poor gets pooer"...Nothing changed overnight, dating back to 1980(32yrs) only 9 teams have won the NBA Title..so this isn't a new thing, its just more in your face today IMO.

So yes, no, am I a hater :p ?

Aust
08-10-2012, 07:21 AM
NFL - Many different playoff teams and SB winners
MLB - Look what happened to the Phillies. Injuries and over and underachievers where nothing is given unless you're the Yankees
NHL - Pretty good balance, although I'm no expert(8th seed wins Stanley Cup)

I'd say yes, the NBA has the worst competitive balance out of the 4 major sports.

bholly
08-10-2012, 07:21 AM
Of the North American major leagues, probably, but it isn't close to, say, the big Euro football leagues or most international sports.

USMCLaker
08-10-2012, 07:23 AM
Loving this thread.

BSardogan
08-10-2012, 07:29 AM
Soccer is wayyyy worse than NBA basketball in that aspect.

At least in the NBA the weak have a SHOT at becoming good with draft picks and free agency. In soccer the weak lose all their talent to the bigger teams.

Ezio
08-10-2012, 07:39 AM
Blame the draft.

--23--
08-10-2012, 07:42 AM
Compared to the NFL, NHL, & MLB, I would say yes. I don't know much about soccer but based on what BSardogan said the NBA comes in 2nd place as "the worst Competitive Balance" lol

NYY09
08-10-2012, 07:42 AM
Yes, and its not even close. Although with all that has happened recently there is one huge factor still in play - health.

Also, will we even see an end to this "u mad" horse****...?

USMCLaker
08-10-2012, 07:53 AM
Competitive balance goes to the best negotiator ever see "Barter Kings"?

Raph12
08-10-2012, 08:03 AM
The NBA has not had "competitive balance" consistently at any point in time... The only reason it is made out to be a bigger deal now is because of the media.

USMCLaker