PDA

View Full Version : how much rope does murphy have?

rapsjaysfan88
05-01-2012, 05:25 PM
seriously, near the bottom of every offensive category and what 5 of our 9 guys with an obp near or under 300. hitter after hitter turning into crap under him, snider, jose, lind, hill, etc, etc.. with word coming out of LA that with there struggles their hitting coach on the way out if things don't improve. my question is how long does toronto put up with this garbage hitting coach and his horrible hitting philosphy? please dont bring up jose as his greatest accomplishement because im convinced it was cito and not murphys influence that helped him.

town123
05-01-2012, 05:39 PM
I know it's early in the year, but, since I've been calling for his head for 2 years now.....

Hello Chad Mottola

JaysFan87
05-01-2012, 05:45 PM
Hitting coaches have little do with the success of hitters. Hitters are in the big leagues because they have done before and have a track record. And also murphy was here the last 2 years when jose became jose so he didnt help him then and now he is hurting him. ANd lind has sucked for 4 of the past 5 years. Nonetheless the hitters will come out of it. Its essentially the same hitters as last year except for Johnson and Rasmus.

Abdul Mutalib
05-01-2012, 06:23 PM
yea his rope might have shortened from the stagnant offense thus far. i'd like to think there are better hitting approaches then just swing early and often.

farrell and murphy seem to be on different pages in terms of hitting philosophies so to hear murphy flip flop may be confusing to some players, who knows.

i kno jose is a smart player and really studies pitchers but i think he is just thinking too hard and trying to make unnecessary adjustments like trying to hit the outside borderline pitch the other way. but he's also popping up a lot pitches he woulda homer'd the past 2 years.

craigerlee
05-01-2012, 06:24 PM