PDA

View Full Version : amnesty rule question



thapastime7
05-01-2012, 09:23 AM
i was wondering about the amnesty rule

can it be used every year?
Does salary amount or years left determine if the player can be amnesty?
Do you have to wait for amnestied players contract to run out to re use IT?

Jroz
05-01-2012, 09:39 AM
Each team can use the amnesty clause once per CBA, so until the next one runs out..2022ish? :confused: If you are wondering if the Knicks can amnesty Stoudemire and sign the extinguisher that beat him up the answer is no..only one amnesty per team per CBA

Corey
05-01-2012, 09:42 AM
Any player CAN be amnestied.

Once you use it, it's gone.

The team still has to pay the player, it just doesn't count against the cap.

Amnestied players cannot be resigned by the team that cut them for a full year.

iliketurtles24
05-01-2012, 09:44 AM
i thought they had to be under contract in the old cba for it to work. Am i wrong about that?

jimm120
05-01-2012, 09:52 AM
U are correct.

Must have gotten the contract before in the oldncba and only 1

D1JM
05-01-2012, 10:42 AM
i thought they had to be under contract in the old cba for it to work. Am i wrong about that?

Yup.

ChiBulls91
05-01-2012, 11:06 AM
Also, the paying of the contract is a little weird to IIRC. If the player gets picked up by another team, then whatever the new team agrees to pay him, that is subtracted from what the old team still has to pay.

Ex: Someone is making 10 mil with team A and they get amnestied. Team B comes along and signs them to a 3 mil contract. Team A then only has to pay 7 mil.

GiantsSwaGG
05-01-2012, 03:03 PM
The fire extinguisher will not be a Knick...sorry!

davids22
05-01-2012, 05:02 PM
Why can't the Knicks amnesty him? Have they already used their one allowed? Just curious.

nyfinest4life
05-01-2012, 05:09 PM
Knicks already used the amnesty on billups

nyfinest4life
05-01-2012, 05:10 PM
Im pretty sure u only get to use the amnesty once every 10 years

Cal827
05-01-2012, 06:24 PM
Morale of the story: NEVER use an amnesty on an expiring contract :D

topdog
05-01-2012, 06:39 PM
So... the T-Wolves seem like a likely candidate to amnesty Darko. Any other rumors out there about guys likely to be amnestied this summer? Is Garcia going to hang with the Kings?

tyfreaks brotha
05-01-2012, 06:59 PM
Im pretty sure u only get to use the amnesty once every 10 years

It's every new CBA. That is of course it is in the CBA

tyfreaks brotha
05-01-2012, 07:00 PM
So... the T-Wolves seem like a likely candidate to amnesty Darko. Any other rumors out there about guys likely to be amnestied this summer? Is Garcia going to hang with the Kings?

If anyone leaves it's probably Salmons. A few of our SF's have been getting time over him while we may draft another SF this season. Garcia is a decent backup SG and hell he can even play a little PG

NoahH
05-01-2012, 08:40 PM
i was wondering about the amnesty rule

can it be used every year?
Does salary amount or years left determine if the player can be amnesty?
Do you have to wait for amnestied players contract to run out to re use IT?

No
Anyone can be amnestied
No you can only use it once