PDA

View Full Version : Jump Shot help

Lakeshow24KB
04-11-2012, 05:38 PM
I am still a freshman in high school but I'm taking basketball seriously. I've been playing and I had a jumper that wasn't perfect form but it worked. However, I recently wanted to make a change in it. The main part is, I'm so used to keeping my off hand on the ball and shooting with both hands, almost the same way Joakim Noah does it, and I can't make the adjustment that I need to make. Does anyone know of something that I can buy to help me? For example, my friend told me of like, a disk I can put on my hand so that no matter what, I can't grip the ball.

I appreciate the help.

shep33
04-11-2012, 05:48 PM
I am still a freshman in high school but I'm taking basketball seriously. I've been playing and I had a jumper that wasn't perfect form but it worked. However, I recently wanted to make a change in it. The main part is, I'm so used to keeping my off hand on the ball and shooting with both hands, almost the same way Joakim Noah does it, and I can't make the adjustment that I need to make. Does anyone know of something that I can buy to help me? For example, my friend told me of like, a disk I can put on my hand so that no matter what, I can't grip the ball.

I appreciate the help.

I've always been one who thinks form isn't really important, as long as you have a quick release and the ball goes in (Larry Bird, etc.).

Anyways to your point. The best way is to literally tie your off hand to your side. Try shooting with one hand only, and do this on a consistent basis. When you start to feel comfortable with your release, bring your off hand back into the mix. Remember your off hand is a guide only, your not shooting with it at all.

There are some good videos on youtube to help with your problem too.

cubbies7177
04-11-2012, 05:49 PM

I appreciate the help.

I'm probably not as serious as you are about basketball, but I've been undergoing the same process of changing my form.