PDA

View Full Version : Did Dwyane Wade travel on his game-winner?



SaimuKala
12-29-2011, 05:43 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=nlCxXkiWBEk

GrandDaddyPurp
12-29-2011, 05:45 PM
Kobe does that all the time but regardless this makes up for the Lebron dunk that was head blocked.

dnewguy
12-29-2011, 05:47 PM
Anyone can make a pretty video, you people must be jobless to even have time for this meaningless crap. You keep trying to make a case for travel, yet no one sees anything.

justinnum1
12-29-2011, 05:47 PM
dont even go there

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_A5dTbZ2dE

and from nba.com official website

The Dwyane Wade basket shown in the below video is a legal basketball move. Wade gathered the ball with his right foot on the floor: his first step is when both feet touch the floor simultaneously and his second is when he steps forward with his right foot.

Heatcheck
12-29-2011, 05:53 PM
he came down on his left foot during the jumpstop, making his left foot the pivot foot. so how does lifting your right foot constitute travelling?

kjoke
12-29-2011, 05:53 PM
you cant call the first step i believe in that case

BALLER R
12-29-2011, 05:55 PM
that wasn't a travel the first step doesn't count as a step he was picking the ball up while he was about to do the hop step. If that's a travel then everyone in the league should be called for it. if miami wants to win the ball has to be in wade's hand and their learning that it was a good shot they won forget about it.

BALLER R
12-29-2011, 05:55 PM
you cant call the first step i believe in that case

This

cubyfan07
12-29-2011, 05:57 PM
It is the NBA. What do you expect?

Raph12
12-29-2011, 05:57 PM
In the NBA, the first step as shown in the video, is considered a gather (no step)... So no.

Rentzias
12-29-2011, 06:00 PM
If anything, that's tremendous footwork actually.

sep11ie
12-29-2011, 06:01 PM
I've heard of traveling before. Any ancient NBA historians in here wanna tell me what it's like to see it in person?

ManRam
12-29-2011, 06:01 PM
If we can't figure it out among ourselves, I'm not going to get upset that a ref didn't call it :laugh2: We have the advantage of slow-mo and multiple looks, they don't get that. They get chaos.

Shmontaine
12-29-2011, 06:01 PM
don't you have to establish a pivot foot in order to pivot???

not sure about it, but if you jump gather, and land on two feet at the same time, which foot is the establish pivot foot??

either way, just like the lj dunk/no dunk... it's over, and in the past...

lavilevi23
12-29-2011, 06:04 PM
No.

NYMetros
12-29-2011, 06:09 PM
What's with the creepy music in the video?

And it doesn't look like a travel to me.

Hawkeye15
12-29-2011, 06:09 PM
no, that is not travel. The first step claimed in the video is a gathering step, allowed in the NBA no matter who you are. After that a legal jump stop, and one pivot. Totally legal.

Rentzias
12-29-2011, 06:16 PM
It's the same concept as Jamal Crawford's shake and bake, which never gets questioned, and which I've failed to pull off successfully many times:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vz5DXIezqr4

Raph12
12-29-2011, 06:19 PM
Again people arguing over this; yes that would be travel at the collegiate or even college level, but in the NBA, players are allowed one gather step which does not count towards a travel call... Ergo after a jumpstop, you are allowed a pivot in the NBA.

Shmontaine
12-29-2011, 06:19 PM
http://phillyref.com/basketball/travelrules.html



A player who comes to a stop on the count of one when both feet are on the floor or touch the floor simultaneously, may pivot using either foot as the pivot. If he alights with both feet he must release the ball before either foot touches the floor.
A player who has one foot on the floor or lands with one foot first to the floor, may only pivot with that foot. Once that foot is lifted from the floor it may not return until the ball is released.
A player who jumps off one foot on the count of one may land with both feet simultaneously for count two. In this situation, the player may not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either returns to the floor.

think this sums it up...

kntresistheheat
12-29-2011, 06:25 PM
I can't believe there was a video made for this. It was not a travel by the way.

tyfreaks brotha
12-29-2011, 06:30 PM
No that wasn't traveling

amos1er
12-29-2011, 06:30 PM
It was questionable, but I've seen a lot worse....for instance, Lebrozes' "crab dribble" was a complete joke. Props to Wade, he is clutch and is the best player on the Heat....if Lebronze lets him be the #1 option, they will win it all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8wPtCPaTWu4 Now this is traveling!!!

YoungOne
12-29-2011, 06:33 PM
travel is never called right in the nba...

Teeboy1487
12-29-2011, 06:40 PM
If the refs called that a travel, it would have been a horrible call. Wade made a clutch shot. I will give him credit.

daleja424
12-29-2011, 06:48 PM
tremendous footwork. not a travel. NBA has confirmed the call. done

Lake_Show2416
12-29-2011, 06:55 PM
no that wasnt a travel, the 1st step doesn't count cuz he was gathering his dribble

luckily it wasnt Wade's famous 3 step spin move lol

Dolfan305
12-29-2011, 07:00 PM
first step didn't count. It was part of his gather. Even if Wade traveled, I gaurentee the Refs missed some travel calls, fouls on the Bobcats. Besides, Lebron's dunk was an obvious goal tend, so the Heat should have won anyway

gotoHcarolina52
12-29-2011, 07:03 PM
Meticulous footwork

Dolfan305
12-29-2011, 07:19 PM
It was questionable, but I've seen a lot worse....for instance, Lebrozes' "crab dribble" was a complete joke. Props to Wade, he is clutch and is the best player on the Heat....if Lebronze lets him be the #1 option, they will win it all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8wPtCPaTWu4 Now this is traveling!!!

If "Lebrozes," ?" wasn't there the Heat would've lost by 20

homestarunner93
12-29-2011, 07:24 PM
Well, of course it was. But do you think the NBA wants the Bobcats beating the Heat?

Chi StateOfMind
12-29-2011, 07:25 PM
Did MJ pushoff when he hit "The Shot"?

ESaady
12-29-2011, 07:31 PM
Lebron traveled on DWade's game winner.

pd1dish
12-29-2011, 07:41 PM
idk if it was travelling or not, i only saw the highlight once, but his superman celebration towards Cam was awesome...

justinnum1
12-29-2011, 07:43 PM
idk if it was travelling or not, i only saw the highlight once, but his superman celebration towards Cam was awesome...

yea it was:nod:

HiphopRelated
12-29-2011, 07:56 PM
Well, of course it was. But do you think the NBA wants the Bobcats beating the Heat?
It's december...it doesn't matter

Cal827
12-29-2011, 08:04 PM
Lebron traveled on DWade's game winner.

This.

leftymo
12-29-2011, 08:11 PM
he came down on his left foot during the jumpstop, making his left foot the pivot foot. so how does lifting your right foot constitute travelling?

b/c a jump stop constitutes two steps. You can't pivot after a jump stop.

Kyben36
12-29-2011, 08:16 PM
Legal from what I saw, he landed simutaniously ( or close enough) and then had a choice of pivot feet, I have never heard that if he jumps off one foot to get to that pivot its illegal, somebody has to much time on their hands to make this video. I say legal though, at least the way I was tought.

Bruno
12-29-2011, 08:30 PM
i wouldn't call what the video labeled as the first step, his first step. it was close, but that's just excellent footwork by wade.

Cubs Win
12-29-2011, 08:44 PM
If "Lebrozes," ?" wasn't there the Heat would've lost by 20

He only said that LeBron would have to let Wade be the #1 option, not disappear. :rolleyes:

Badluck33
01-05-2012, 09:56 PM
The NBA rule book states, if a player jumps off one foot on the count of one he may land with both feet simultaneously for count two. In this situation, the player may not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either return to the floor. The way the rule is written Wade's final basket against Charlotte was a travel, he clearly pivots with his left foot and moves his right in order to gain an advantage to get his shot off.

It was a travel.

Flashsides
01-05-2012, 11:26 PM
Literally the NBA came out and stated that it wasn't a travel according to NBA rules. It doesn't even look like a travel. What's the point of this thread?

Also what does Lebrozes even mean?

Supa
01-06-2012, 03:31 AM
It's traveling, but it's hard to see in real time.

Wade can spin, travel, then fall, and the ref will say someone foul him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0u0Ei_dN6Yg

---

THE GIPPER
01-06-2012, 04:33 AM
Haha if you need a video like that to try and prove its a travel, it isnt a travel.

naps
01-06-2012, 05:11 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=nlCxXkiWBEk

NO, but THIS (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPoDZYlxK58)one is.