PDA

View Full Version : Free Agent Kirilenko: "I can play entire next season in Europe"

69centers
07-04-2011, 07:56 AM
Is your priority staying in NBA?

I'm in a better situation that the players who have valid contracts with NBA teams. If the lockout ends they will have to return to their teams. As a free agent I can play the entire next season in Europe, or even more than one season.

Could we speak of official offers you have in your hands?

So far I don't have any official offers. This is just the second day I'm unemployed. There are five-six clubs I would be interested in playing for. I will hear out all offers and then make up my mind. Team targets, the league they play in will all be important factors. I'm in good shape and going through my basketball peak, so I would like to play on a high level. I think I still have three-four years. What I consider highest level? NBA or Top Euroleague teams. I can shine there.

Do you have offers from NBA teams?

Not yet. And I can't have any from now on because clubs can't talk to players during a lockout.

Are you considering returning to Russia?

Due to the lockout I have the opportunity to play for my friends, relatives and Russian fans who live in Russia. They would love to see me playing in Russia. Of course I'm not considering only Russia, but for example ACB too. That's the strongest European league. I would like to test myself there.

Link (http://www.talkbasket.net/5806-kirilenko-i-would-like-to-play-in-acb.html)

NYKalltheway
07-04-2011, 09:31 AM
Kirilenko with Rudy at Real Madrid... or Kirilenko at Tau Vitoria (aka Caja Laboral)

Interesting season :)

jimbobjarree
07-04-2011, 10:30 AM
I honestly think even without the lockout, AK still would have headed back to Europe.

llemon
07-04-2011, 02:09 PM
Hope AK does play a full season in Europe, and takes himself out of the Nets equation.

JerseysFinest
07-04-2011, 02:14 PM