PDA

View Full Version : PSD's 1980-2010 NBA Redraft Sign Ups!

Mile High Champ
09-16-2010, 10:18 AM
Hello Everyone,

Recently, I asked PSD to be the one to run the next NBA All Time Redraft. I have had a lot of experience over the last few years of participating and helping out in redrafts and mocks on PSD. As many of you know, it has been over a year since the last one took place. Over the years of running this mock game, people have always complained about how can we accurately vote on players most of us never saw play or for that matter played before we were even born. Last year, the mock took a different approach and used the “what if” sports site system to generate box scores and results of games. It did work fairly well but I think it did take much of the participation out of the mock after the draft occurred. As a result I want to try something a bit different.

I have opted to run the NBA Redraft using only players who have played in the last 30 years. Therefore this draft will be a 1980-2010 NBA Redraft. You must be wondering why 30 years. My reasoning behind this was simple. The majority of us PSD users are under the age of 30. It only makes sense to focus a redraft on players who most of us saw play or for that matter have at least seen footage of playing. Granted it seems difficult to leave out greats like Wilt Chamberlain, Bill Russell & Oscar Robertson but this new system should allow for people to speak with more knowledge on the players being drafted.

Obviously this is not a full proof system and we will still have a decent portion of people who have never seen some of these players play but it does fix the issue of including players from the 50’s and 60’s. I know this may not be the most popular decision but it is certainly worth trying something a bit different this time around. Who knows, maybe this can catch on going ahead in the future.

As follows here is the basic rule of this NBA Redraft.