PDA

View Full Version : Please rate n00b's draft...Need help with H2H

jl8686
10-26-2009, 08:29 AM
Hey all,

Huge NBA fan but this is my first time doing fantasy. I love the NBA and I know all the players but I'm used to fantasy football so this whole balancing or dominating the categories thing has me TOTALLY lost. I read up on how the scoring works but I have no idea how to use it or win with the H2H strategy.

It's a H2H league with standard 8 categories (points/assists/rebounds/blocks/3 pointers/steals/FG%/FT%.....noturnover category) 10 guys in the league, we start PG, SG, SF, PF, C, G, F, PF/C, and two Util. Daily lineups. Everyone else is pretty new and I think everyone else pretty much went for a balanced/BPA strategy, there's no one using one of those weird tactics like "Smallball" or deliberately punting categories yet I don't think.

Here's my team and their eligibility. I picked second

Pick 1. (2nd overall): LeBron James (SF)
Pick 2 (19th overall): Joe Johnson (SG, SF)
David West (PF)
Monte Ellis (PG, SG)
Andris Biedrins (C)
LaMarcus Aldridge (PF)
Andrea Bargnani (PF, C)
Luis Scola (PF, C)
Mike Bibby (PG)
DJ Augustin (PG)

Bench: (but its a daily league so the bench gets swapped in and out)
Greg Oden (C)
Courtney Lee (SG)
Stephen Curry (PG, SG)

I honestly can't tell what I'm good at and what I'm bad at because I don't know how much of each position people usually own. I could be fantastic or horrendous at a certain category and not know it, or I could have one guy ruining an entire category for me and not know it.

I have my own thoughts but I could be way offbase and need other opinions. For example, free throw shooting - my best guess is that LeBron and Biedrins ruin my chances at free throw shooting, but maybe I'm actually the best at it since I have a bunch of big guys like West and Bargnani who are good at Free Throws and other people will start a couple centers who are as bad as Biedrins. I really don't know.

-Is my team good?