PDA

View Full Version : Top 8 seed in Western Conference

hovyboo
10-21-2009, 10:13 AM
So I'm a teacher and during my glorious prep I spoke hoops with my co-workers.

we got in a bit of a squib over who would be the top 8 seeds in the west and what order would they fall in. I'd love if you sports savy PSD member chimed in

my rankings are as follows:

1. Lakers (no debate with anyone here)
2. Spurs (veteran team that improved...win now becausae the time is ticking)
3. Hornets (that Okafor trade has me high on these guys)
4. Nuggets (they could easily be 3 but i think NO has better interior)
5. Dallas (old team will win a lot but break down near playoffs)
6. Portland (they're deep)
7. Jazz (they didnt get much better and the Boozer situation doesnt help)
8. Clippers/Grizzlies (both team can go either way depending how they mesh)

my big beef was everyone being sold that the suns will be in the playoffs..

i'm not going for that one.

Tom81
10-21-2009, 10:17 AM
you think suns have no chance for playoffs ?

hovyboo
10-21-2009, 10:18 AM
I mean everyone else got better

they can make it but i think other teams have better chances

Kakaroach
10-21-2009, 10:30 AM
The Nuggets are better on the interior than the Hornets. Okafor is good but he's not gonna make em a championship squad. The Grizzlies have a shot if their talent meshes and the Clippers if Griffin has a great Rookie year. But the Jazz should and will be better than a 7th seed.

Wilson
10-21-2009, 10:30 AM
I see a few different possibilities:

Scenario One (most likely)
1 - Lakers
2 - Nuggets*
3 - Trail Blazers
4 - Mavericks
5 - Spurs**
6 - Jazz
7 - Hornets
8 - Suns***

*:- I have a hard on for the '09-'10 Denver Nuggets.

**:- I see the Spurs resting their guys during the regular season. This will mean some extra losses during the regular season, but a much fresher team in the play-offs.

***:- Going back to the run and gun system should help them a lot.

Scenario Two
1 - Nuggets
2 - Lakers*
3 - Jazz**