PDA

View Full Version : Free Throws



lakerfan2293
03-21-2009, 12:00 AM
how come in the nba, whenever a teams in the penalty, they always say 1 plus the penalty, y dont tey just say 2 shots?

Kyben36
03-21-2009, 12:11 AM
Its a new Rule. They dont like the way that college Basketball is played at the end with the penelty and if you miss the first, so the games get to just fouling. They put the 2 in because that way, even if you do miss the first that you can stay ahead, otherwise, when you are down, you could just fould and get into the penelty, which is stupid. Easy way to come back without being that good.

GoatMilk
03-21-2009, 01:21 AM
what are you talking about?
they always say 2 shots

greg_ory_2005
03-21-2009, 01:27 AM
what are you talking about?
they always say 2 shots

They do say 1 plus the penalty.

CHief_0_o_Wahoo
03-21-2009, 01:37 AM
Never really thought about, but that is weird.

GoatMilk
03-21-2009, 01:38 AM
oh ok
I think it just depends on the announcer.
because i usually hear 2 shots

maybe i just havent noticed

HiphopRelated
03-21-2009, 09:14 AM
* has never heard 1 plus the penalty*

what teams do you follow and hear that?

DrDEADalready
03-21-2009, 09:18 AM
how come in the nba, whenever a teams in the penalty, they always say 1 plus the penalty, y dont tey just say 2 shots?


I have never heard them calling it that. I've always heard them say it was 2 shots :shrug:

IndyRealist
03-21-2009, 11:57 AM
I've heard something like that in college games, but never in the NBA, it's always a "two shot foul".

LTS
03-21-2009, 12:24 PM
I've heard but you have to be at the actual game the Tv guys say two shots the courtside you'll here the one shot plus the penalty

DerekRE_3
03-21-2009, 02:13 PM
The announcer at Arco says 1 plus the penalty.