PDA

View Full Version : A Coach Defines "Most Valuable"

phlp_bj
10-05-2008, 05:42 PM
How do you go about predicting who the NBA's Most Valuable Player will be, even before the first pre-season game ever tips off?

First and foremost you have to define "Most Valuable Player", which starts an argument all it's own. If it is just the best player in the league, the guy with the best stats who has the best invididual season, then you have one set of players.

But, if you tie it to winning and team success, the best player who is also most responsible for his team's success, then you have another set of players. As a coach, those are the players I am interested in.

When you take those two groups of players and cross match them, that subset where the circles intersect is where you find the true MVP.

This is why a great player on a bad team cannot be the Most Valuable Player. If the team isn't winning, or underachieves, then how truly "valuable" can that player be? As a coach, I don't need a fantasy guy. I need a player whose numbers and production on the court lead to victories.

Following that formula, I think there are four players this season who have the best chance to be this year's NBA Most Valuable Player.

I think Dwayne Wade is going to have a monster year and if healthy, may very well be the best player in the NBA this season. Fans have forgotten pretty quickly just how good he was before injuries started taking their toll. All you had to do was watch the Olympics this summer, or pop in a tape of the HEAT's NBA title season, to see how good Wade is. If healthy, which of course is the "big if" in his case, Wade could have his best year ever. If he can lead his team to the playoffs, then he should be in the running. But, with the HEAT not expected to be in that race, it is hard to give Wade the nod at this point.

http://www.hoopsworld.com/Story.asp?story_id=10176

oshea225
10-05-2008, 05:52 PM