PDA

View Full Version : Do you need a catcher on every play?



Chicago657
07-20-2008, 12:52 AM
Ok crazy situation here. Team A at bat needs one run to win. Bases loaded 3-2 count. Team B takes their catcher and brings him out into the field. This could greatly reduce the chance of the batter getting a hit. Now if the pitch is a ball, Team A wins anyway. If its a strike, then the ball goes down to the backstop. Whats the drop 3rd strike rule? I thought there wasn't any if there is a man on first. The pitcher doesn't always need the catcher to call the pitches.

Is this legal? If this is legal, where would the ump stand? What happens if the batter swings and misses and the ball hits the ump?

Tkais9009
07-20-2008, 12:58 AM
haha very interesting. idk :)

KmB728
07-20-2008, 12:59 AM
I really dont think it would be allowed

cardinals1226
07-20-2008, 01:04 AM
With the bases loaded the batter can still run on a drop third strike. But you always have to have a catcher anyway so it doesn't make any difference. Besides, a team would never take their catcher out to use him in the field. Most of the time it's the shortstop who plays as a fourth outfielder and 3B plays both positions and 2B slide over to cover the hole. Very far fetched situation that will never happen.

flyinhawaiian
07-20-2008, 01:09 AM
Runner on 3rd steals home?

Chicago657
07-20-2008, 01:10 AM
Well I know it will never happen. No one in their right mind would do that. I was wondering if it was legal. Hypothetical discussion

mikeman0000
07-20-2008, 01:10 AM
Why would the batter swing?

In most cases if the catcher drops a ball, the ump rules it a ball, so why call a strike?

pad1
07-20-2008, 01:11 AM
There is no dropped 3rd strike if there are runners on 1st. The ump would be severly injured if this was possible.

OneOpportunity
07-20-2008, 01:27 AM
With two outs you CAN run to first on a dropped third strike no matter if runners are on or not. So even if you strike him out he will still reach 1st and they will win. Add on the fact that they could easily steal home. Creative idea but it wouldnt work. Not to mention it would probably kill the umpire. Thinkin outside the box though, i love it lol

sboyajian
07-20-2008, 08:35 AM
With two outs you CAN run to first on a dropped third strike no matter if runners are on or not. So even if you strike him out he will still reach 1st and they will win. Add on the fact that they could easily steal home. Creative idea but it wouldnt work. Not to mention it would probably kill the umpire. Thinkin outside the box though, i love it lol

That's the biggest point..

that and I doubt the ump wants to get hit by the ball.

lil'papi
07-20-2008, 08:59 AM
Not legal.

Does anyone really think over the last 125 years new ways to play the game were over looked?

..........this isn't hockey where you pull the goalie.:rolleyes:

http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/official_scorer_10.jsp

eyememine
07-20-2008, 09:07 AM
Runner on 3rd steals home?

There ya go

redwhitenblue
07-20-2008, 09:24 AM
There is no dropped 3rd strike if there are runners on 1st. The ump would be severly injured if this was possible.
Except with 2 outs

MJRiley26
07-20-2008, 11:19 AM
Runner on 3rd steals home?

Right? And even if the batter did swing and miss, he could advance to first on the strikeout.
Moreover, where would the catcher play in the field in this situation to make the move most effective? That is what I'm interested in.

Theriot2
07-20-2008, 11:27 AM
I don't think that would work.

Would be kind of cool if it did though.

MarkieMark48
07-20-2008, 11:41 AM
there would be no steal of home on a 3-2 count with the bases loaded

Sportscenterman
07-20-2008, 11:57 AM
I don't know if you can do this but the dropped 3rd strike rule is in affect when nobody is on 1st or when somebody is on first with 2 outs

homestarunner93
07-20-2008, 12:46 PM
Yeah, you couldn't steal home if its 3-2 and two outs...

torontocubs
07-20-2008, 12:48 PM
What a random thread, too many instances that this situation wouldn't work. ie the ones discussed, dropped third strike, steal home. The only time I have ever seen a fifth infielder is what the angels used to do and bring in figgins and throw him up the middle

Hawkize31
07-20-2008, 12:51 PM
Not legal.

Does anyone really think over the last 125 years new ways to play the game were over looked?

..........this isn't hockey where you pull the goalie.:rolleyes:

http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/official_scorer_10.jsp

Well, there is a rule that if a pitcher is on the mound and he puts his fingers in his mouth while on the mound, the hitter is awarded an automatic ball.

8.02 The pitcher shall notó
(a) (1) Bring his pitching hand in contact with his mouth or lips while in the 18 foot circle surrounding the pitching rubber. EXCEPTION: Provided it is agreed to by both managers, the umpire prior to the start of a game played in cold weather, may permit the pitcher to blow on his hand.
PENALTY: For violation of this part of this rule the umpires shall immediately call a ball.
But when a pitcher intentionally walks somebody, he will throw 4 pitches to the catcher, risking an overthrow. Why not just stand on the mound and lick your fingers 4 times in a row? Its a much safer play.

TheBatchelor213
07-20-2008, 03:42 PM
this would piss off the ump

JDIsMyGod23
07-20-2008, 04:02 PM
The ump would be like Happy Gilmore in the cages.

B2theRY
07-20-2008, 04:43 PM
bottom line:

Batter swings and misses the ball was not caught meaning the play is still live and the players advance.. its like dropping a ball on third strike..

jayl1377
07-20-2008, 05:01 PM
is this a real thread? how is it still open?

katahajime
07-20-2008, 05:16 PM
I am watching the cards padres game right now and thats the EXACT situation! HA!

brandonwarne52
07-20-2008, 05:17 PM
Do you need to have a pitcher on every play? Can't you set up a tee and let the pitcher go play rover? See, that sounds silly, but San Fran keeps letting Barry Zito take the mound, so you can see why I'd be confused.....

REGular
07-20-2008, 05:39 PM
It seems like something out of the sequel to "Rookie of the Year".

GLobo
07-20-2008, 06:07 PM
The hitter just needs to drop a bunt

brandonwarne52
07-20-2008, 06:08 PM
The hitter just needs to drop a bunt

Seriously, that's you're answer to this quandary? REALLY?

Even after 246 people in the thread have said the guy could go to 1st because of a dropped 3rd strike with 2 outs and 1st base occupied? Or that he could outright STEAL home?

Yeah....okay.

wealz08
07-20-2008, 06:16 PM
Lead-off hitter in every inning, why not deploy your catcher in fair territory until he gets 2 strikes (or 3 balls). Of course, the ump might put an end to that by call the first 3 pitches balls no matter where they are.

brandonwarne52
07-20-2008, 06:16 PM
Lead-off hitter in every inning, why not deploy your catcher in fair territory until he gets 2 strikes (or 3 balls). Of course, the ump might put an end to that by call the first 3 pitches balls no matter where they are.

Because it's....uh, illegal?

Jimi032890
07-20-2008, 06:32 PM
Runner on 3rd steals home?

wouldnt matter. with the bases loaded and a 3-2 count with 2 outs, all the runners are moving on the pitch anyways. swinging or called strike would result in the 3rd out which means no runs are scored, ball 4 means the guy from 3rd scores anyway cuz the bases are loaded, and if its a foul ball, well, do it all over again.

brandonwarne52
07-20-2008, 06:33 PM
wouldnt matter. with the bases loaded and a 3-2 count with 2 outs, all the runners are moving on the pitch anyways. swinging or called strike would result in the 3rd out which means no runs are scored, ball 4 means the guy from 3rd scores anyway cuz the bases are loaded, and if its a foul ball, well, do it all over again.

It's a guaranteed, dropped 3rd strike. What are you talking about?

wealz08
07-20-2008, 06:45 PM
Because it's....uh, illegal?

So there is a rule that there can only be eight players alligned in fair territory?

brandonwarne52
07-20-2008, 07:00 PM
So there is a rule that there can only be eight players alligned in fair territory?

Did you read the rest of the thread?

PSD 101: Read the thread.

City of Angels
07-20-2008, 07:17 PM
the catcher has to stay in his box thats why when they intentionaly walk he has to take a step out of the box.

brandonwarne52
07-20-2008, 07:20 PM
So you're saying it's illegal for the catcher to think outside of the box?

iam brett favre
07-20-2008, 08:12 PM
You dont think the runner would just steal...:shrug:

horry1ur
07-20-2008, 08:25 PM
This is confusing :confused:

statquo
07-20-2008, 11:57 PM
The pitcher could probably use a target to get that third strike across the plate.

L-MiLLZ44
07-21-2008, 06:16 PM
they should just do this more often not for the sake for another fielder just for the sake of nailing those dumb *** umpires

cardinals1226
07-21-2008, 06:30 PM
Wow. This thread just keeps getting more and more pathetic. The question was answered in the first 5 posts at least and somehow this thread still turned into a 3 page discussion of the same question being answered 20 different ways. Does no one read the thread before they post anymore? Jesus...

Faithdies
07-21-2008, 06:34 PM
I've always wondered why they don't pull the opposite field outfielder or infielder and moved him to the spot that would be most beneficial on a pull hitter.

cardinals1226
07-21-2008, 06:36 PM
I've always wondered why they don't pull the opposite field outfielder or infielder and moved him to the spot that would be most beneficial on a pull hitter.

They do.

kingsfan15
07-21-2008, 06:39 PM
good thread, really made me think, lol, really good thinking, even if the idea was debunked, good thinking

R. Johnson#3
07-21-2008, 07:10 PM
Ok crazy situation here. Team A at bat needs one run to win. Bases loaded 3-2 count. Team B takes their catcher and brings him out into the field. This could greatly reduce the chance of the batter getting a hit. Now if the pitch is a ball, Team A wins anyway. If its a strike, then the ball goes down to the backstop. Whats the drop 3rd strike rule? I thought there wasn't any if there is a man on first. The pitcher doesn't always need the catcher to call the pitches.

Is this legal? If this is legal, where would the ump stand? What happens if the batter swings and misses and the ball hits the ump?

If there's a runner on 1st and the 3rd strike is dropped the batter is out. The runners could still run though.

If there's a runner on 1st with 2 outs then there is no dropped third strike rule.

Basically this idea would never ever work.

Philly4life84
07-21-2008, 07:12 PM
With two outs the batter can run i think and yea the runner on third would just steal home