Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
    vCash

Filling Out the Rest of the Roster

Now that we've cleared the Tanaka hurdle and conquered the rotation equation, it's now time to address filling out the rest of the roster. By my count, the Yankees have 19 players on guaranteed major league contracts meaning there are six spots to fill. In actuality, most of those spots will be filled internally by RP candidates like a guy like Warren taking the long man role. Still there are probably 2 or 3 spots that we could add impact players to the fill out the roster with the infield and bullpen being the biggest needs. I'm curious to see what you guys think we should do to fill out this roster. My own ideas are as follows:

Infield Option #1- Sign Stephen Drew. Boras has stated that Drew is open to playing other positions, which if he were to get regular at bats here he would need to with Jeter primarily playing at short. Being a short stop by trade, Drew has become a pretty good defender over teh years there and would likely be a plus defender at second as well. That's where I would play him as I think Kelly Johnson can hit well enough to handle third by himself, and because second would be an easier transition for Drew than third would be (different skill sets at third than the middle IF spots).