Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

vCash

Lifting During Sport Season

Hey everyone.

Right now, my high school basketball season is really starting to kick off - I have 3 league games in the next 2 weeks.

I lift for sports, mostly during the summer (couldn't this year because of a broken wrist ), but I always try to workout on my free time.

Anyway, because it's basketball season, I have really avoided weights since I don't want to throw off my jumpshot, free throw, etc... I really didn't find it a problem in basketball since I'm conditioned well and have lifted enough in the past to be strong enough to compete very well.

All was fine until a few days ago when winter workouts for baseball started. I went to the batting cage practice and thought "This should be fine," but when I picked up a bat and started swinging, I was really surprised at how weak I felt.

The problem is, this year is huge for me. I'm currently a sophomore in high school and I have a chance to make varsity baseball. It's my dream to play college baseball and I know that playing 3 years on varsity really improve my chances.

I want to lift again so badly but I'm afraid that once I start, I'm going to be too sore for basketball and when I get passed the "beginers soreness," my shot will be off as I'm getting stronger.

If anyone here has any idea on how I can get stronger for baseball season while keeping my basketball season in mind?

Any help and suggestions are much appreciated. Thank you!
    Last edited by MetsFanatic19; 01-03-2013 at 11:56 PM.

vCash
    do a lot of restoration/conditioning work with sleds, prowlers, tires, etc.

As for weights messing up your jumpshot, it wont. They lift weights at the collegiate level.

vCash
    I play in 1-3 basketball leagues depending on the time of year. Lifting has helped my game in every aspect including a more consistent jumper.