Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Hybrid View

vCash

2012-13 Syracuse Crunch Season

Hopefully this will spark a bit of dialect between posters regarding the Syracuse Crunch, the AHL, and even the Tampa Bay Lightning in general.

These are some of my postings from games I have watched, imported in from elsewhere....please, feel free to join in with thoughts and commentary, as well as educate me on the doings of the AHL (I am still new to them), and the Crunch in general.....

Thanks guys n gals...

vCash
    The Crunch currently sit atop the East Division and are very much looking like the team that won the Calder Cup last season (known then as the Norfolk Admirals), and doing it with a mixture of skill, defense, and nastiness.

Yes, NASTINESS.
    With the premium the Tampa Bay Lightning put on skill players over goons, this is a bit surprising.

Then again, those AHL 'goons' the Crunch have can also play the game.
    Which is a good thing, because if there is one area where the parent Lightning club could use some improvement, other than the lackluster defense and goaltending, it would be in the toughness department.
    Hopefully, some of these guys are truly skilled enough to get a shot at the NHL at some point.

Syracuse currently leads the entire Eastern Conference in PIMs and are second only to the Western Conference's Rockford Icehogs (Chicago Blackhawks farm team)

But back to the Crunch, they played tonight against the Hamilton Bulldogs, the Montreal Canadiens minor league club, and shut them out 3-0.

Scoring for Syracuse were Richard Panik, JT Wyman, and Dmitry Korobov.
    Of that trio, only JT Wyman saw regular action for the Lightning last season, and given the amount of skill TB has on their front lines, breaking away from the AHL as a forward for them will be a tough task indeed.

Radko Gudas, a defenseman, got an assist in the game.