Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    vCash

Post breakup workout plan

So I've read a lot of threads in this section and you guys seem like a knowledgeable bunch so here goes...

My g/f of 4 years recently left me and although it sucks, it has given me 100% motivation to get back in the shape I was when I was 18-19 and playing baseball/hockey.

Im 28 years old. 5-11" 205lbs.

My target and ideal weight with cardio and lifting is 185-190. I got down to 190 a few years ago, but i was running 20-25 miles a week and not a whole lot of weight training. This time around I'd rather be a little more powerful of a 185-190 rather than a cardio 190 (if that makes sense).

Since the breakup (2 weeks ago) ive been coming home from work and running 2 miles, 4 times a week along with a little bit of weight training. The problem I'm having is once i run, my lifting suffers significantly. Obviously im just starting out again and shouldnt expect to be killing it, but its rather frustrating to not be able to get a really solid workout in for the full 4 (sometimes 5) days a week.

My questions are:

1) I've always been told to do cardio first, then lift, but I feel like I'd be better the other way around? Or should I stick to what im doing.

2) Are there any solid supplements I should look at? I dont want any weight loss pills or anything along those lines. Protein is something I will def be adding, but I'd like to add something else to help me along.

Any advice or tips would be extremely helpful. I'm trying to work into this slowly so I dont burn myself out, but I'm pretty geared up to do this so I find myself trying to do too much and it costs me on the next days workout. Thanks in advance for any input.
    Last edited by Phillysports101; 10-24-2012 at 10:02 AM.

vCash