Like us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter





Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Computer issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    69,693
    vCash
    1500

    Computer issues

    The comp I got from cyber power cost me 2100.... It has now been 3 months and have had 0 issues until last night....All of a sudden it shut down out of nowhere and now when I turn it on everything starts up for 3 seconds and then shuts down and then starts back up by itself and then shuts down and doesnt stop....The fans come on and the lights come on but for only 3 seconds....I am not one to take a part computers and mess around with them so I will be little help...I took out the ram and put it back in and I cleaned the thing out completely but there is still a tiny bit of dust on the back fan....Anyone have any ideas?

    I ask because my only option right now is to send it back and get it repaired for free but the time it will take until I get it back is about a month.

    What was meant for me will be Mine once again... THE CHAMP OF CHAMPS IS BACK

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    40,652
    vCash
    500
    I'm having a real pain the *** issue myself. Something is causing the left click to not work on my mouse. I know it isn't the mouse because I have tried 3 different ones and the same issue. I've done a system restore and tried shutting down everything that isn't windows or necessary and still the same issue. I've tried all the settings for the mouse, reinstalled the drivers etc. its a pain in the ***

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    6 minutes away from United Center
    Posts
    39,914
    vCash
    4409
    Quote Originally Posted by More-Than-Most View Post
    The comp I got from cyber power cost me 2100.... It has now been 3 months and have had 0 issues until last night....All of a sudden it shut down out of nowhere and now when I turn it on everything starts up for 3 seconds and then shuts down and then starts back up by itself and then shuts down and doesnt stop....The fans come on and the lights come on but for only 3 seconds....I am not one to take a part computers and mess around with them so I will be little help...I took out the ram and put it back in and I cleaned the thing out completely but there is still a tiny bit of dust on the back fan....Anyone have any ideas?

    I ask because my only option right now is to send it back and get it repaired for free but the time it will take until I get it back is about a month.
    ummm make sure the ram is inserted all the way.



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    69,693
    vCash
    1500
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezio View Post
    ummm make sure the ram is inserted all the way.
    Did... The problem happened before I took the ram out...I took the ram out and put it back to try and see if that was the issue but it still does it. I am at a loss

    What was meant for me will be Mine once again... THE CHAMP OF CHAMPS IS BACK

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    12,412
    vCash
    1500
    Stop watching so much pornography
    SPACE


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5,469
    vCash
    1500
    I think I had the same problem on my desktop back in the days. I simply got another power cord and plugged it in the same outlet. Problem went away. Up to this day, I still don't know what the real culprit was. I was like wtf too when it kept turning on and off. Try plugging it in different outlet first. Also, don't plug it in a power surge, try straigh from the outlet first.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    ^ESPN and PSD Agrees

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,102
    vCash
    1500
    I dont know anything about computers, but a few years ago i had a problem where it just randomly would shut off...i switched out the graphics card i think you call it and it worked again.

    Err wait...i dont remember now if it would actually shut off or if the screen would go blank. Mightve been the blank screen.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    America
    Posts
    65,775
    vCash
    1500
    RAM was going to be my first suggestion as well.

    Sometimes the wrong startup operation was selected and causes the computer to shut down in midboot. Check in the BIOS and see what startup option is selected. You should have options like RAID or ATA or AHCI.
    Member of the Owlluminati!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    6 minutes away from United Center
    Posts
    39,914
    vCash
    4409
    Quote Originally Posted by dbroncos78087 View Post
    RAM was going to be my first suggestion as well.

    Sometimes the wrong startup operation was selected and causes the computer to shut down in midboot. Check in the BIOS and see what startup option is selected. You should have options like RAID or ATA or AHCI.
    It happened to me and I fixed it by making sure I put the RAM in the place it was before.



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    27,619
    vCash
    500
    If it's not the RAM(was my first suggestion too)...

    The build might have sucked, too much power and not enough cooling or something. Too much power and the PSU was to small, causing **** to fry, most likely your processor.

    Were you playing a game when this first happened or any intensive software?
    Does your computer beep at all upon startup?

    If there is dust around your heat sink(the fan above the processor) it might be worth removing the heatsink and checking the processor for dust underneath the connections, then reseating it. That can cause the issue you are having.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    2,334
    vCash
    1500
    Hmmm alternate ram cards and see if one may be dead. I would also say check your bios, maybe check if it's overclocked, sometimes that causes issues. I know my old board I couldn't overclock at all and it would do that same thing

    i7 3770k 16gb DDR3 GTX 780

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    raider nation
    Posts
    2,177
    vCash
    1500
    Quote Originally Posted by steelcityroller View Post
    I'm having a real pain the *** issue myself. Something is causing the left click to not work on my mouse. I know it isn't the mouse because I have tried 3 different ones and the same issue. I've done a system restore and tried shutting down everything that isn't windows or necessary and still the same issue. I've tried all the settings for the mouse, reinstalled the drivers etc. its a pain in the ***
    Have you played any games recently that have affected your screen resolution? Sometimes when a game "takes over" and uses their own mouse cursors etc it can delay the mouse afterwards. Try uninstalling the game (if this is the case) and see if that works. Also, go into your mouse settings under control pannel and see if anything has changed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •