Like us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter





Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    M.I.A
    Posts
    13,683
    vCash
    1500

    Adding a SSD drive to a MacBook

    When do you think its needed? I have the simplest mac and feel as time goes by I can add new things into it. Just don't know if I need it, or if the difference from HDD to SSD is that significant in my case.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Central Europe
    Posts
    1,167
    vCash
    1500
    Quote Originally Posted by kjoke View Post
    When do you think its needed? I have the simplest mac and feel as time goes by I can add new things into it. Just don't know if I need it, or if the difference from HDD to SSD is that significant in my case.
    The change from HDD to SSD is probably the biggest performance booster in every day use. Program load times and responsiveness should greatly improve.
    In a mac book a decent hybrid drive would also work wonders, the HDD in the older mac books are just plain slow.

    So yes a SSD is in my opinion the best upgrade you can do.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    America
    Posts
    65,425
    vCash
    1500
    Are you replacing the HDD with a SSD? Because if so you will need to install your OS onto the new drive. But you should be fine with the hardware inside of computer since they both use SATA connections.
    Member of the Owlluminati!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    M.I.A
    Posts
    13,683
    vCash
    1500
    Quote Originally Posted by Patman View Post
    The change from HDD to SSD is probably the biggest performance booster in every day use. Program load times and responsiveness should greatly improve.
    In a mac book a decent hybrid drive would also work wonders, the HDD in the older mac books are just plain slow.

    So yes a SSD is in my opinion the best upgrade you can do.
    How does it work if I decide to get run bootcamp? I'd probably get the 120gb ssd drive, and would have to allocate around half for microsoft, when with my current HDD I can allocate around 300 to 350gb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    M.I.A
    Posts
    13,683
    vCash
    1500
    Quote Originally Posted by dbroncos78087 View Post
    Are you replacing the HDD with a SSD? Because if so you will need to install your OS onto the new drive. But you should be fine with the hardware inside of computer since they both use SATA connections.
    I'm horrible with computer hardware, can I actually have both?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    10,975
    vCash
    1500
    how do you know if your computer has a HDD or SDD?
    Quote Originally Posted by lol, please View Post
    1. Thunder
    2. Warriors
    3. Clippers
    4. Blazers
    5. Grizzlies
    Quote Originally Posted by lol, please View Post

    I already have that scrizzguap on the Dubs winning a 'ship.
    Sincerely,
    delusional Warriors fan

    Quote Originally Posted by COOLbeans View Post
    What do you do for a living because I guarantee it's not in academics or psychology?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    M.I.A
    Posts
    13,683
    vCash
    1500
    Quote Originally Posted by FOBolous View Post
    how do you know if your computer has a HDD or SDD?
    With the Mac it tells you which Mac you bought

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    America
    Posts
    65,425
    vCash
    1500
    Kjoke: some computers let you have two. Dell for instance will sell you a caddy to put a 2nd HDD/SSD where your CD drive would be.

    Fob: all computer will tell you, usually if you have a large capacity you had a HDD and if its smaller its probably a SSD.
    Member of the Owlluminati!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    10,975
    vCash
    1500
    -delete-
    Last edited by FOBolous; 12-25-2012 at 07:18 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by lol, please View Post
    1. Thunder
    2. Warriors
    3. Clippers
    4. Blazers
    5. Grizzlies
    Quote Originally Posted by lol, please View Post

    I already have that scrizzguap on the Dubs winning a 'ship.
    Sincerely,
    delusional Warriors fan

    Quote Originally Posted by COOLbeans View Post
    What do you do for a living because I guarantee it's not in academics or psychology?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Central Europe
    Posts
    1,167
    vCash
    1500
    Quote Originally Posted by kjoke View Post
    How does it work if I decide to get run bootcamp? I'd probably get the 120gb ssd drive, and would have to allocate around half for microsoft, when with my current HDD I can allocate around 300 to 350gb
    If you want to run a bootcamp setup anything under 240GB will be a huge pain. If you need the space I would look for a hybrid drive, these are drives that use a small SSD to cache data. A 500 GB drive like that should cost around 90$ according to newegg. It won't give you the speed of an SSD but it still is a huge performance upgrade over a normal HDD.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •