Like us on Facebook


Follow us on Twitter





Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,748
    vCash
    1500

    Why is it an error on me if the person receiving the ball whiffs?

    I don't want to be an annoyance but I wonder why it is an error on the person throwing the ball if the person receiving it doesn't hold up their end.

    I just saw what should have been a routine out on a low chopper hit to the 3rd baseman. He received it in plenty of time and threw to 1st. The player on "alligator armed" the throw which allowed the runner to take 2nd.

    I'm watched it real time and replay and both times it was an issue with the 1st baseman.

    And, of course, the 3rd baseman received the error.

    Does anyone know why this is the case?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,410
    vCash
    1500
    ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    3,135
    vCash
    1500
    The official scorer determines which player's miscue caused the problem and gives the error as s/he feels necessary. Sometimes neither player fields the ball cleanly, and then the scorer simply decides which player fielded the ball worst.
    This said, usually the thrower is at fault, as a good throw allows the 1B to field the ball easily.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    181
    vCash
    1500
    whos on first?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    31,071
    vCash
    1500
    Quote Originally Posted by Luv Da New Pack View Post
    I don't want to be an annoyance but I wonder why it is an error on the person throwing the ball if the person receiving it doesn't hold up their end.

    I just saw what should have been a routine out on a low chopper hit to the 3rd baseman. He received it in plenty of time and threw to 1st. The player on "alligator armed" the throw which allowed the runner to take 2nd.

    I'm watched it real time and replay and both times it was an issue with the 1st baseman.

    And, of course, the 3rd baseman received the error.

    Does anyone know why this is the case?
    Yep. The official scorer disagreed with your description of the events. Had he saw it your way, he would have charged the first baseman with the error. But for whatever reason, he felt the error was caused by the third baseman's failure to make a decent throw rather than the first baseman's failure to catch a routine toss.
    "Mr. Martin Tanner, Baritone, of Dayton, Ohio made his Town Hall debut last night. He came well prepared, but unfortunately his presentation was not up to contemporary professional standards. His voice lacks the range of tonal color necessary to make it consistently interesting. Full time consideration of another endeavor might be in order."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    columbus, oh
    Posts
    1,442
    vCash
    1500
    Quote Originally Posted by catman View Post
    The official scorer determines which player's miscue caused the problem and gives the error as s/he feels necessary. Sometimes neither player fields the ball cleanly, and then the scorer simply decides which player fielded the ball worst.
    This said, usually the thrower is at fault, as a good throw allows the 1B to field the ball easily.
    this^^^

    its not automatically the thrower. it is determined who gets the error based on who the official scorer sees at fault like catman said
    Bulls
    Bears
    White Sox

    AND YOUR NEW STANLEY CUP CHAMPS, THE BLACKHAWKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    9,829
    vCash
    1500
    Judgment call.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    74
    vCash
    1500
    anyone know why when a batter reaches on an error it "hurts" their OBP? they reached base right. just a silly scoring of a stat id been thinking about?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Riverton,il
    Posts
    15,565
    vCash
    1500
    And this is why errors arent a very good stat

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,748
    vCash
    1500
    Thanks for the clarification.

    Now that I know that it's not automatically given I can be more objective.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5,169
    vCash
    8192
    Quote Originally Posted by BECKHAM>>>>ROY View Post
    whos on first?
    That's what I'm asking you, what is the name of the guy on first base....


    I think the reason for an error is the assumption is the guy throwing the ball has to be right on line, if its a bit high, low, or to the side I guess the scorer says it was not a perfect through even thought the fielder didn't make a strong effort to catch it. If the ball hits the chest or glove I would think it would be against the guy trying to catch.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pistolvania
    Posts
    30,804
    vCash
    1500
    Quote Originally Posted by jfree31 View Post
    anyone know why when a batter reaches on an error it "hurts" their OBP? they reached base right. just a silly scoring of a stat id been thinking about?
    Because he would have been out. The only way a player gets out getting to his first base is either by a strike out, fly out, or put out. Anything that stops those "routine" plays from happening is ruled an error which means that player would never have gotten to first.

    Sacrifices don't hurt OBP because those are situational at bats. They are done with the purpose to move the runner or score the runner.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,884
    vCash
    1500
    Errors are ******** because they're entirely up to the scorer's discretion.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    52,937
    vCash
    1500
    Quote Originally Posted by PhillyFaninLA View Post
    That's what I'm asking you, what is the name of the guy on first base....


    I think the reason for an error is the assumption is the guy throwing the ball has to be right on line, if its a bit high, low, or to the side I guess the scorer says it was not a perfect through even thought the fielder didn't make a strong effort to catch it. If the ball hits the chest or glove I would think it would be against the guy trying to catch.
    No, what’s on second base.
    30 Team Stadium Checklist: 10 to go

    1) Yankees 2) Orioles 3) Rays 4) Red Sox 5) Mets 6) Braves 7) Phillies 8) Nationals 9) Marlins 10) Pirates 11) Padres 12) Astros 13) Mariners 14) Twins 15) Cubs 16) White Sox 17) Cardinals 18) Indians 19) Tigers 20) Royals

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •