Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009

    Legends and Leaders

    Thoughts on division names, logo, trophies
    By Adam Rittenberg

    The Big Ten finally revealed the new names for its football divisions, along with a new logo and 18 (count 'em) new trophies for football.


    After months of taking suggestions and brainstorming possibilities, the Big Ten ended up with Legends and Leaders. Here's the breakdown:

    Legends Division: Michigan, Michigan State, Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern and Nebraska

    Leaders Division: Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Illinois, Purdue and Indiana

    The league also wanted to avoid geography in the division names. While I completely agreed that geography shouldn't have been the deciding factor in determining how teams were assigned to divisions, I didn't have nearly as big of an issue with geographical distinctions for division names. Lakes and Plains would have been just fine with me.

    "People suggested Schembechler and Hayes," Delany said. "Any time you looked at it, it seemed to be too exclusive and not inclusive enough. ... As we looked at ourselves, we believed at the core of who we are are our traditions and heritage. And those traditions are largely people, legendary people."

    The Big Ten recognized plenty of those people in the new trophies. But Legends and Leaders is too generic, a little too arrogant and too Little League for me. Another good point raised by Greenstein: two divisions that start with the letter 'L' have a negative connotation in sports.


    The Big Ten's new logo has its flaws, but I can live with it. The mark, created by Pentagram Design, certainly comes off a bit Retro and looks more like something that would have been done when Delany first became commissioner in 1990 than now.

    There's no hidden "12" in the logo like there is with "11" in the current Big Ten logo.

    "A lot of people thought we would use negative space to [use] 12," Delany said. "Pretty much everybody in the design world said, 'No, don't do that.' "

    What the league tried to do was create a link back to its pre-Penn State logo with the B-I-G 1-0, substituting the 'I' in Big as the No. 1. Asked about the 'G' looking like the No. 6, which feeds into the conspiracy theory that the Big Ten eventually will expand to 16 teams, Delany said, "We were thinking 10, not 16."


    The big additions are the Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy given to the winner of the Big Ten football title game, which beings next year. The trophy honors former University of Chicago coach Amos Alonzo Stagg and current Penn State coach Joe Paterno. The MVP of the title game receives the Grange-Griffin Trophy, which recognizes former Illinois star Red Grange and former Ohio State star Archie Griffin, the only two-time winner of the Heisman Trophy.

    The complaint some have raised with these trophies is that they honor current Big Ten coaches like Paterno and Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald, whose name appears on the Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year award.

    "A lot of people say you can't honor somebody who was alive, you can’t honor somebody who was active," Delany said. "I don’t subscribe to those rules. We were trying to get a good blend of great people, deceased and alive, who stand for great athletic contributions."

    I also like that none of the Big Ten's trophies will be connected with corporate sponsorships.

    Here's the full list of new trophies:

    Championship game trophies
    Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy: Honors Amos Alonzo Stagg (University of Chicago) and Joe Paterno (Penn State)
    Grange-Griffin Championship Game MVP: Honors Harold Edward “Red” Grange (Illinois) and Archie Griffin (Ohio State)
    Postgraduate Awards
    Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award: Honors President Gerald R. Ford (former Michigan player) and Nile Kinnick (Iowa)
    Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award: Honors Tony Dungy (Minnesota) and Anthony Thompson (Indiana)
    Annual Awards/Trophies
    Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year: Otto Graham (Northwestern) and Eddie George (Ohio State)
    Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year: Bronislau “Bronko” Nagurski (Minnesota) and Charles Woodson (Michigan)
    Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year: Wayne Woodrow “Woody” Hayes (Ohio State) and Glenn Edward “Bo” Schembechler (Michigan
    Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year: Darrell Thompson (Minnesota) and Antwaan Randle El (Indiana)
    Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year: Honors Dave Rimington (Nebraska) and Orlando Pace (Ohio State)
    Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year: Honors Charles Aaron “Bubba” Smith (Michigan State) and Courtney Brown (Penn State)
    Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year: Honors Bob Griese (Purdue) and Drew Brees (Purdue)
    Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year: Honors Alan Ameche (Wisconsin) and Ron Dayne (Wisconsin)
    Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year: Honors Jack Tatum (Ohio State) and Rod Woodson (Purdue)
    Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year: Honors Dick Butkus (Illinois) and Pat Fitzgerald (Northwestern)
    Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year: Honors Pat Richter (Wisconsin) and Desmond Howard (Michigan)
    Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year: Honors Ted Kwalick (Penn State) and Dallas Clark (Iowa)
    Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year: Honors Jim Bakken (Wisconsin) and Morten Andersen (Michigan State)
    Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year: Honors Thomas Dwight “Dike” Eddleman (Illinois) and Brandon Fields (Michigan State)

    Not really concerned with this thoughts, more that his post incorporates everything that was released today by the Big 10. What do you guys think of the division names? What is with all the new trophies? Seems a bit excessive to me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    I think it's all ********. Might as well call the divisions Beavis and Butthead

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    from san jose reside in sacramento

    Talking Lmmfao

    Quote Originally Posted by gocubs2118 View Post
    I think it's all ********. Might as well call the divisions Beavis and Butthead
    Well said this is just asinine.

    They should also change the name of the conference from Big-10,its been more than 10 schools for years now in their.
    Last edited by ULT WARRIOR408; 12-16-2010 at 01:45 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Des Moines IA
    Don't like the "Legends" and "Leaders," but at least ISU still sucks.

    Когда́ де́ньги говоря́т, тогда́ пра́вда молчи́т

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by SmthBluCitrus View Post
    Don't like the "Legends" and "Leaders," but at least ISU still sucks.

    Couldn't agree more

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Punta Gorda, FL
    Guess this is the new logo.

    I can live with that, what I can't live with is the name of the divisions. Should be North and South and be done with it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts