Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
    vCash

Miami Dolphins OTA's thread

As hard as this regime has worked to rebuild the Miami Dolphins' offensive line it appears injuries keep getting in the way of the Dolphins putting together a forceful offensive line.

While starting left guard Justin Smiley is back to work earlier than expected, it appears Donald Thomas is battling a serious pectoral injury.

I'm not a doctor (I only play one inside the newspaper), but the last I knew pectoral injuries take months to heal, and usually saps a player's strength because he can't lift weights.

Thomas stretched with the team at the beginning of Tuesday's OTA session then immediately walked off when the action got started. Brandon Frye, not Ikechuku Ndukwe, worked with the starting line in Thomas' place.

Joe Berger was the second team center because Andy Alleman also didn't practice.

Despite the absence of Thomas, the offensive line was opening up some nice holes. A couple of the running backs made nice runs during the OTA, which don't feature any tackling.

After a certain period we have to shut down all the electronic equipment, so I'll finish off my observations on this blog entry.

WR Greg Camarillo participated in all of the individual work, but was shelved when it came time to do the team drills. However, he did get a few runs in during one team session. As I reported on my tweets, Davone Bess is the receiver who continues to accompany Ted Ginn Jr. working with the first team.

Speaking of Ginn, he caught a beautiful touchdown pass from Chad Penningtonduring the 7-on-7 portion practice. It was a perfect over the shoulder throw into the corner of the end zone. Ginn beat Eric Greenon the play. Pennington showed off his fresh arm to zip the pass in while Green was chasing Ginn. Beautiful throw, and great catch from Ginn, who coach Tony Sparano said is "night and day" ahead of where he was at this point last season.